Community Outreach

Dizzy Feet

Nigel Lythgoe, Carrie Ann Ibana and Adam Shankman at the inaugural celebration of dance held at the Los Angeles Kodak Theater

Dizzy Feet Foundation was founded in 2009 by Nigel Lythgoe, Adam Shankman, Carrie Ann Inaba, and Katie Holmes to support, improve, and increase access to dance education in the United States.

Guided by a board consisting of some of the most illustrious names in the American dance community, the foundation's mission is threefold: (1) to provide scholarships to talented students studying at accredited dance schools, studios, or institutions; (2) to establish national standards for dance education and an accreditation program for dance schools in all of the major styles of dance;


Glorya Kaufman receiving an impact Award from The Dizzy Feet Foundation. Glorya Kaufman was the very first Dizzy Feet Foundation honoree.On the right, Glorya Kaufman with Carrie Ann Ibana.

and (3) to develop, provide, and/or support dance education programs for disadvantaged children through and with local community organizations.

DFF offers scholarships to dance students through its Scholarship Program. Scholarships of up to $10,000 will be granted annually. The Scholarship Program guidelines and application process will be posted on the DFF website in the near future.

DFF also sponsors, funds, and/or offers community-based dance programs which will expose children in low-income areas to the lifelong benefits of dance education. Glorya Kaufman was the very first Dizzy Feet Foundation honoree.